Social Justice

photo_OurCongregation
Rev. Macklin at Courthouse

 

 Social Justice permeates all programming at the UU Church of Bloomington – worship, religious education, fellowship, and special groups like Chalice Circles and the choir. Social Justice Task Forces are formed when a number of people wish to work together around a specific social justice area.

 How to contact your  Legislators  

 

Our Social Justice Task Forces are changing the world!

May we persist,
and resist,
and insist
on justice!

 

UU chalice with leaf instead of flame

The  Green Sanctuary Task Force helps members create sustainable lifestyles and reduce carbon footprints. Marcia Veldman marciaveldman@nullgmail.com 

Habitat TF Logo

Habitat for Humanity Task Force helps provide decent afforable housing in Monroe County. Barb Berggoetz barbberg@nullbluemarble.net or Connie Nelson Laird cnelsonlaird@nullgmail.com

Feed Our Hungy Neighbors Logo

Help Feed Our Hungry Neighbors Task Force engages in projects to reduce hunger in our community. Anne Graham aegraham@nullindiana.edu

The Homelessness Task Force works with agencies to provide services/support to homeless people, to develop strategies dealing with issues related to homelessness including hunger and unemployment,  and to end homelessness. Alan Backler abackler@nullaol.com

Friends of Prisoners Logo

The Hope for Prisoners Task Force works on projects based on recognizing humanity of those in prison and their families. Mary Goetze goetze@nullindiana.edu

 

IOTF Logo color crop

The International Outreach Task Force (IOTF)  works to better human lives and build human bridges between people of different cultures. Claire Robertson robertson.8@nullosu.edu

Just Peace Logo

The Peace and Economic Justice Task Force contributes to a just peace at local, national, and global level. Jobs for Justice is a part of this task force. David Keppel keppel@nullsbcglobal.net

The Racial Justice Task Force joins the movement to co-create a racially just world.  Martha Foster marthaletv@nullgmail.com

Rainbow Rights Logo

The Rainbow Rights Task Force seeks to work with and for the congregation in the area of LGBTQ rights and concerns.  Amy Makice amakice@nullgmail.com

The Refugee Task Force is working with Exodus Refugee of Indianapolis to determine how to best support their mission of  welcoming refugees to Indiana. Deb Fish schoolofdfish@nullgmail.com or Harold Ogren ogren@nullindiana.edu

Repro Freedom flower (1)

The Reproductive Justice Task Force promotes an active liberal voice to educate ourselves and the community, advocates for reproductive justice, and connects with community partners to ensure reproductive justice for all women and men. Melinda Swenson mswenson@nulliupui.edu Deborah Meader deborahmmeader@nullgmail.com

Becoming a Sanctuary Congregation On March 9, 2017, our congregation voted to become a Sanctuary Congregation.

Elder Focus TF

(Temporarily on hiatus) – The Elder Focus Task Force reaches out to elders,  responds to their needs, encourages them to contribute their wisdom, and improves later years for all elders. Barb Backler bbackler@nullgmail.com

 

Information for Social Justice Leaders

 

SJ Annual Report 2016-7

 

More Social Justice

Social Justice Funds Committee   administers SJ Grants and facilitates selection of 25% of Sunday Plate recipient.

Application for 25% Sunday Plate for year 2017-18 now available; due on April 15th. Please save file and follow submission instructions in application.

This year’s recipient is New-Leaf New-Life .  Funding for furthering inmates education: fees for high school equivalency test  ($90); fees for the Work Keys Test Developmet by ACT($20), Tuition for First Course at IVY Tech($400).

 Steve Mascari   uucbsjfunds@nulluubloomington.org.

MCUM Monroe County United Ministries board member Jackie Hall jmhall@nullindiana.edu

SJ Chair Jackie Hall jmhall@nullindiana.edu